Five Questions About Health Insurance in Massachusetts

health insurance

The Open Enrollment Period for health insurance coverage starting in 2016 is November 1, 2015 to January 31, 2016. Here are a list of five questions you may have about health insurance enrollment in Massachusetts. Visit http://www.hhsi.us/aca or email us at enroll@hhsi.us if you have more questions about enrolling in health insurance!

Q: How much does MassHealth cost?

A: The cost of your health insurance is based on your income. Please refer to the current MassHealth Income Standards and Federal Poverty Guidelines

Q: I did not receive a mail reminder about health insurance renewal. When should I renew my health insurance benefits?                  

A: You should renew every year. Contact a financial counselor for more details.*

Q: I have health insurance through my job but I only need dental insurance. What should I do?

A: Please visit www.mahealthconnector.org . You can review the dental plans available through the market place. Once you have made your decision as to which one would fit your needs, either call the Health Connector directly, or you can schedule an appointment with a financial counselor.*

Q: I don’t have a social security number; can I apply for health insurance?

A: You will most likely be eligible for Health Safety Net (free care).

Q: I am an undocumented citizen and I am pregnant; can I apply for health insurance?

A: Yes, please contact our financial counselor for more details.*

 

*Contact a Financial Counselor by emailing enroll@hhsi.us

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

