Meet Harbor Health Services, Inc.’s New Psychiatrist: Dr. John Palmieri

What made you want to pursue psychiatry as a career?

I was always interested in medicine and the interaction of the brain, the body and environmental factors and I felt psychiatry was the discipline that put it together in the best possible way.

Where did you get your degree?

I went to Brown for my medical degree and I did my residency training at Mass General/ McLean, they have a combined residency program there.

Where were you working before Harbor Health Services?

Primarily at Mass General Hospital and I still do work there in the Emergency Department and I have a very small patient practice there.

What made you want to work in a community health center?

I trained as a social worker before going to medical school and I worked in a community health setting and I feel like my roots and passion have always been in community health because it presents a lot of opportunities and a lot of challenges. I like the opportunity to work with primary care providers, I like the cultural diversity; I think it allows you to work with lots of systems broadly to treat patients and I really enjoy that.

How did you hear about Harbor Health Services?

I knew about it just living in Boston a long time and I heard from different health professionals that encountered the system and I am also in a health loan repayment program and this is a designated site, so I had heard about it in a couple different ways.

What are you most proud of in your career?

A few things, I’m proud of the fact that I’m the first person in my family to have gone to college. I’m proud that I decided to go back to medical school after working for a period of time and sort of made it something of a second career and that was definitely a challenge going back after working for awhile.

What are some of your hobbies?

Swimming, tennis, hiking, kayaking; I like to be outdoors. I enjoy learning languages

Who is your pick for the Super Bowl?

Gosh, I’m really hard pressed not to go with the Patriots living here, although they’re not looking so well, I’m sticking with them being the loyalist that I am.

Sigmund Freud or Carl Jung?

Yeah, that’s a tough one. They both have things to offer, I’m not a purist really at all so I’d have to say they each have elements that I think are very useful in practice, but I wouldn’t wholeheartedly endorse either one of them.

What are you going to be for Halloween?

These get tougher and tougher. Yeah, I really don’t know I haven’t thought about it, I think I might be working that evening so I may be going, unfortunately, as myself.

You can go as a “Psychiatrist!”

(Laughing) I will be a Psychiatrist.

Leave a Reply

